+/- {Plus/Minus} - Further Afield
$10.00 - $22.00

  • +/- {Plus/Minus} - Further Afield

+/- {Plus/Minus} - Further Afield
$10.00 - $22.00

For more than twenty years, +/- {Plus/Minus} has stood as a captivating fixture in the indie rock scene, defying simple categorization while blending futuristic odd-time signature pop with electronic elements and traditional rock instrumentation. The band's origins trace back to the friendship of childhood friends Patrick Ramos and James Baluyut, who would go on to play with 90s New York indie stalwarts Versus. Following the (temporary!) dissolution of Versus in 2001, Ramos and Baluyut welcomed seasoned drummer Chris Deaner, hailing from the Austin music scene, into the fold This fruitful collaboration led to the creation of five full-length albums, several EPs, a video compilation DVD, and extensive tours across the United States, Europe, and Asia, alongside acts including Death Cab For Cutie, The Wrens, Mates of State and more.

As the band members transitioned into parenthood, they continued to write together. Weekly recording sessions became a cornerstone of their routine, slowly redefining their sound and sonic palette. This work culminates with the release of their sixth full-length LP entitled "Further Afield." The band's first LP a decade, it showcases a more propulsive approach while still leaning into the epic hooks the band is known for. Among the ten tracks, standouts include the first single, Borrowed Time, a sparse synth-driven frenetic pop song; Calling Off the Rescue, a plaintive yet raucous slice of jangling guitar and massive builds; and Gondolier, a seven minute 4-on-the-floor exploration traversing multiple musical styles. Experimentation, catchy melodies, and dark lyrical themes persist but are re-energized by the new rhythmic approach.

Self-recorded in the band’s Brooklyn studio and a friend's house in Saratoga Springs, "Further Afield" incorporates a wide array of unconventional elements: AI strings from Sounds.Studio (an AI music platform co-founded by Chris), the ethereal harmonies of a high school choir, the endearing voice of Chris' grandfather, and an eclectic mix of newly learned instruments including the singing saw, pedal steel guitar, Omnichord, clarinet and vibraphone.

A set of band created videos accompanies the release of “Further Afield”. These videos continue the band’s trend of lo-fi, theoretical, playful, and engaging companion pieces. Standouts include: Borrowed Time, a surreal and mesmerizing series of video loops shot in near darkness utilizing the ultra-long exposure “Astrophotography” setting on a Pixel 7 Pro phone; Gondolier, an epic three section video spanning three seasons and starring multiple doppelganger instances of each band member which mirrors the epic three section song while highlighting the band’s multi-instrumentalist songwriting approach; and Calling Off the Rescue, a monochrome verité document shot entirely by the band as they rehearsed the song, showcasing their strength as a live act. Moving forward, the band plans to release a video for each of the album’s songs, including one completely created via code, which, in addition to being released as a video, will also be released as open source code enabling fans to make their own videos.

The artwork for “Further Afield” was created by longtime collaborator Mark Robinson (Teenbeat, Unrest, Air Miami, Flin Flon) who has designed all +/- {Plus/Minus} releases. The arresting cover combines Mark’s signature minimalist graphic aesthetic with a collage of bold photographs.

Track Listing

  1. Intentionally Left Blank
  2. Borrowed Time
  3. Gondolier
  4. Driving Aimlessly (Redux)
  5. Where I Hope We Get Lost
  6. The Pull from Both Sides
  7. Calling Off the Rescue
  8. Contempt
  9. Redrawn
  10. Is It Over Now

Pressing Information

500 Royal Blue Vinyl

More in Vinyl View All