Trummors - Headlands
$8.00 - $20.00

  • Trummors - Headlands

Trummors - Headlands
$8.00 - $20.00

Begun in 2010 in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, Trummors is a duo formed by songwriters Anne Cunningham and David Lerner. Dave, known to some for his years of work with Ted Leo & the Pharmacists, plays acoustic guitar and sings. Anne, who holds a PhD in Comparative Literature, sings and plays harmonium–a hand-pumped reed organ primarily used in drone music. With a revolving cast of musicians, the two songwriters have forged a lush sound that has been called "raga country, country as inner voyage.” Early on in the group's existence, Cunningham and Lerner moved from Brooklyn to the considerably calmer surroundings of West Saugerties in upstate New York. Trummors debut album, Over and Around the Clove, was released by Ernest Jenning in 2012, and reflected their recent change of scenery with a set of spare, earthy songs and slightly psychedelic filter on country-rock. Comparing the record to "the gentler moments of the Grateful Dead's American Beauty" Alternative Press praised Over And Around The Clove as "the latest proof that the well of traditional American music is truly bottomless."

In 2014, the duo moved again, this time to Taos, NM where they currently live. They soon began work on new songs that would become their third LP, titled Headlands. Fittingly, Headlands draws inspiration from enduring archetypes of the American West. Songs of rambling misadventure and fleeting freedom are shot through with the occasional bracing dose of reality. Sonically, the record traffics in Trummors's signature easy 70s rural grooves and sweet close-harmony vocals, but also features more expansive and dynamic musical interplay.

Headlands was recorded and mixed by Jarvis Taveniere (Woods, Real Estate), and produced by Kevin Barker (Vetiver, Fruit Bats), whose b-bender telecaster work accompanies every track. Additional musicians include Dan Horne (Cass McCombs, Circles Around the Sun) on pedal steel, Kyle Forester (Crystal Stilts, Woods) on piano and saxophone, with Chad Laird & Steve McGuirl (Prince Rupert's Drops) on bass and drums, respectively. Will Dyar (who performs with the band on occasion) mastered Headlands at Hills Audio in Santa Fe, NM.

Track Listing

  1. Spanish Peaks
  2. Desert City Gold
  3. Mendocino
  4. Hollis Tornado
  5. L.A. River
  6. Call In the Horses
  7. Breaking Bail
  8. Breezin'
  9. Hearts
  10. Western Lark

Pressing Information

299 On Black Vinyl

Looking for something that's out of stock? Click here to get notified if it becomes available again.

More from Trummors

More in LP View All