Sunshine & The Rain - In The Darkness Of My Night
$8.00 - $15.00

  • Sunshine & The Rain - In The Darkness Of My Night

Sunshine & The Rain - In The Darkness Of My Night
$8.00 - $15.00

Big Black meets the Shangri-Las. Suicide fronted by Joan Jett. Pailhead vs. The Shirelles. Take your pick. Sunshine & The Rain is a duo consisting of husband and wife Ashley Morey (vocals, bass) and Justin Morey (guitar), both formerly of critically acclaimed psych rockers The Black Hollies. Formed around the same time as the 2014 dissolution of their former band, S&tR kicked things off with the Jesus & Mary Chain vibes of their debut 7" "Can't Stop Thinking About You b/w Pale Blue Skies" in late 2015.

In early 2016 they headed into Sonic Youth's Echo Canyon West studio with the legendary Jon Spencer to begin work on their debut LP. Eschewing some of the more lengthy psych leanings of their earliest days, Spencer coaxed the band towards a more immediate sound, cutting down track lengths and leaving nothing but pointed pop gems with sugary hooks and a dirty Ramones grit cutting throughout. Alongside direction from Spencer, and engineering from Grammy Award-winning Engineer Ted Young, Sunshine & The Rain spent the majority of 2016 fine tuning the songs that ended up on In The Darkness Of My Night. From the instant gratification of singles like "Let's Go" and "I'm Not Your Girl" to aggressive earworms "Take Me Out Again" and an unexpected cover of Fugazi's "Merchandise", this is a statement of a debut record that never strays from its point.

Track Listing

  1. Let's Go
  2. Little Rag Doll
  3. I'm Not Your Girl
  4. Come On Baby
  5. Merchandise
  6. So Far So Close
  7. Going The Wrong Way
  8. Take Me Out Again
  9. Can't Stop Thinking About You
  10. In A Dream

Pressing Information

1st Pressing - 500 Black

Looking for something that's out of stock? Click here to get notified if it becomes available again.

More in LP View All